An Apple a Day Does Not Keep the Doctor Away: How My iPhone is Killing Me Slowly

Apple warned me about radiation in the manual. It would be a good idea for me to read manuals in the future. Thankfully there are some things we can do to heal our body from radiation damage.

iphone-userOur first house had a huge cell phone tower a few properties down.  I didn’t think much of it as I was young and ignorant of things that could harm us as we age.  I was still in my indestructible phase.  Eventually, the tower did start to bother me.  We moved and I just pray that no lasting problems are lurking inside us from our three years close to the tower.

My brother and I were talking recently about how humans are ravaging the earth.  I liken most of us to ants on a dropped popsicle – just frantically devouring what we can take for ourselves.  He asked me if I had read the instruction manual on my iPhone.  I hadn’t.  He told me that our phones emit radiation and we should try to limit our contact with the phones and our body.  I did not know this.

I care so much but I know so little.

I am addicted to texting and Scrabble – two things that have required me to hold onto my phone for long periods of time.  Can we undo radiation?

The Dangers Lurking in our Hand Held Devices and How Can we Avoid Them

My research has uncovered that some phones are worse than others and that there are a few things we can do to help protect ourselves from this radiation.

Some of the worst places to use your phone are in rooms with thick concrete walls, and in moving vehicles such as cars and trains where the phone needs to switch between towers to communicate.

For Apple phones, the user manual warns us to use carrying cases and belt-clips that hold the phone more than 5/8 inch from the body and the phone.  We should aim the dock connector area of the phone towards our shoulder to increase the space between this antenna and our body.  For iPads, we are warned to put it in Portrait mode with the home button at the bottom to decrease the frequency that our hand goes near the antenna which is at the top edge.

Chart showing how phones compare to each other in terms of radiation.

Chart showing how phones compare to each other in terms of radiation.

Blackberry warns that we should keep the phone at least 0.98 inch from our body. The Torch is the same with specific warnings about keeping it away from pregnant women’s abdomens or the abdomens of teenage girls.

Motorola warns that the phone should be kept at least an inch from the body.

Hurray For the Good Guys!

An Israeli company designed an app that will detect radiation and warn when the user is close to it.  This is brilliant.  Apple banned this app from their phones.  I guess they thought it wold be bad for business.

2 Ways to Avoid Health Damage Caused by Cell Phone Use

Phones are a way of life now and they are not going anywhere.  There a couple of things that we can do to offset the radiation and hope that it works: images

  1. Turn off your wireless router at night to minimize exposure to radiation.
  2. Eat green vegetables and get a good night’s sleep in a dark room to enhance natural repair of DNA that may have been damaged by radiation.

 

Leave a Reply

